Change of Plans

Auction Treasures

The Monday post is out late today due to my ability to be flexible.  There are days where you wake up in the morning, make your to do list, fully intend to accomplish those items and then it all flies out the window.

Today, was that day.  I had intended to clean my kitchen and find my countertop back.  I had intended to do some more yardwork. I had intended to take a walk.  I had intended to get that cake baked and decorated……the one I have to deliver for a baby shower tomorrow.  I am thinking you can probably tell where this is heading.  I didn’t get the kitchen cleaned, my counters still look awful (stuff just does not move to it’s proper place when a person is gone), and I came home late and the cake is now in the oven…..to be finished tomorrow morning.  But I DID do a lot of walking.

My husband was going to a consignment farm auction a few miles down the road today.  We went early so he could park his pickup in a strategically placed spot. A spot he could sit and warm up and yet see where the two auctioneers were at.  I had intended to pick him up so he could come back later with the car, but after looking at some of the rows of “stuff” decided to go back with him.  I was only going to stay till noon…..Well, I did stay till noon, and beyond, way beyond.

There is something exciting about an auction.  I am not sure if it is the feeling of anticipation waiting to bid on an item or if it is getting the items for the “number” you had in your head.  It is also a fun occasion to connect with neighbors down the road or people you have not seen in years. If you are into “people watching”; auctions are a great place to pursue that hobby.  There is also that moment of panic when you wonder if you heard the auctioneer correctly.  This moment usually hits right after you win an item. There can also be the disappointment when the item you really wanted blew right past the number you had in your head. I still wonder if the gal who purchased the huge mailbox I wanted, realized how much she had actually bid on it or if she was really surprised when she went to pay for it.

Whenever I would win the bid on something, explain what my vision for it was,  my husband would comment, “Looks like I will be having some work to do.”;  and that is so true.  I really think he should be blaming Pinterest instead of me. I have always told him I have lots of ideas and I need him to be the one who will execute the building phase of the project and I will finish it off from there.

BonusScrap Iron

Unfortunately, I also seem to end up with a pile of assorted junk.  For some reason the auctioneer deems it wise to add this stuff to items that I want to bid on.  I am wondering if Pinterest even has an idea of what can be done with any of this. I guess there is always the scrap pile.

Once I turn those treasures in the photo into better treasures I will show you what I have done with them.  Maybe I should say, what my husband and I have done with them.  That would be more accurate.  For now, I guess I had better get back to that cake.and I would love to hear from you what your best auction find was.

 

 

In matters of style, swim with the current;
In matters of principle, stand like a rock.
~T. Jefferson

5 thoughts on “Change of Plans

  1. Jocelyn says:

    My brother-in-law saw some beautiful grandfather clocks… without the clocks… at an auction. He bought them (2), purchased the clock parts, and gave us and his sister (my sister-in-law)’s family a clock for Christmas! Pretty cool auction find!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thechickengrandma says:

      that is cool! I was thinking of making those tables that use drawers and the spindles cut in half for the legs. I have some old drawers laying around here. And the cast iron bench ends are, I think, school desks. I got three sets of them!!!

      Like

  2. Sanderella's says:

    We all have those days, that is for sure! Looks like you found some treasures at the auction! I look forward to see what you and your husband will do with them!! Sounded like a fun day!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

