Gray, Drippy Days

 

Gray

Gray Day

 

I really thought I should title this Rainy Days and Mondays/Wednesdays, but I could not figure out how to get the strikethrough in the title so I had to let that one go.

Yes, it was another gray, drippy, somewhat depressing-looking day.  I had really hoped to finally get the potatoes in this week but that is looking like a very dim prospect. We usually get the potatoes planted around Good Friday; but this year it was just too wet and too cold, so we waited.  And we are still waiting.  Monday and yesterday I was hopeful the garden would dry up enough to have it tilled, as it was sunny and windy.  (We could have put them in yesterday, but we were catching up from spending a day at the auction on Monday.)  My husband also commented that he really didn’t want to plant potatoes in the mud or wearing a coverall and I can’t say that I blame him.  It would make an interesting picture though….

Kennebec Seed Potatoes

Kennebec Seed Potatoes

 

When the weather gives you a lot of days like this, it is hard to convince yourself that Spring/Summer will really get here.  It tends to feel like we will never get in the garden and plant those seedlings.  This is probably a good thing as those tiny plants really do need the extra month to get to the right size.  Perhaps this weather is sent to teach, or should I say reteach, me the virtue of patience.  I have the feeling that God is telling me that I might plan my days but He is the one who is ultimately in control. And that is a very good thing!

IMG_1322

Tomato, Pepper, & Cabbage Seedlings

 

I did take a little walk around outdoors this afternoon just to convince myself that Spring is here and that this is a normal April with the gray rainy days.  I found enough to reassure me with the green of the grass and  I also found some of my perennials beginning to grow and make their presence known.  There was the sedum, which is the hardiest perennial I know of.  I also found my columbine coming up and the tulips are really trying to make it before the rabbits totally chew them up.

I did find one of the best things for a rainy day is still the same…. curling up with a good book.  My daughters -in-law suggested reading The Giver by Lois Lowry.  It is a book written for young people but I found it really interesting.  This could be because I am succeeding in my goal.  I have always told my kids that I want to get old…..I just don’t want to grow up.  They usually tell me I am doing fine.

 

Good Books

 

“Rainy days
should be spent at home
with a cup of tea
and a good book.”
Bill Watterson,
The Calvin and Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book

I guess for now, I will have to find other things to do till the time is actually right to be doing outdoor things.  I will just have to finish up those last little winter type projects so when the weather does clear up I am ready to go.

For who hopes for what he sees?
But if we hope for what we do not see,
we wait for it with patience.
Romans 8:25

7 thoughts on “Gray, Drippy Days

Leave a Reply

