Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb Muffins

Years ago I got a recipe from a friend, Crystal, for Rhubarb Muffins. At that time I did not even have a rhubarb patch.  Another friend of mine, LuAnn, graciously gave me some plants to get started.  These were the really good red ones.  It did not take long and my patch started to look pretty respectable.  Over the years I have gifted others with pieces of plants so they can also get a patch started and enjoy all the good things you can make from rhubarb.

My husband doesn’t always agree with me about rhubarb.  His view, and I quote, “Rhubarb is just a fruit that wants to be an apple.”  He thinks it is way to sour, however, he does like these muffins.

I discovered last year just how much my chickens loved my rhubarb patch.  Before the leaves were even out of the ground they were scratching and pretty much pecking that patch to nothing but dirt.  In order to save my plants, my husband gave me some corn tunnels to use for protection against the girls.

Corn Tunnels on the Rhubarb

It is not incredibly attractive, but it sure does the trick.  Now they kind of wander around it, looking mournfully through the wire.  They are always hopeful that the tunnels have disappeared and check it every day.

Rhubarb

The plants are beginning to peek through the dirt.  When they get bigger I will remove the tunnels, as the chickens do help control all the pests that live underneath the leaves.  Just seeing the plants start to grow makes me think of all the good things a person can make with rhubarb.  I like to use it in strawberry-rhubarb jelly and for the muffins.  I have also found a recipe for rhubarb punch that I am thinking of trying this summer.  I would love to add to my rhubarb recipe collection.  Please comment and share your favorite way to use rhubarb.

I made these muffins the other day and they are great for a Sunday morning breakfast or pretty much anytime of day.  They are so moist you really don’t even need to put butter on them.

Rhubarb Muffins
Blend:
1 egg
1 cup buttermilk
2/3 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
Add:
2 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
Fold in:
2 cups chopped rhubarb
Topping:
2 tablespoons butter
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 cup white sugar
Put muffin mix into muffin papers in muffin pans
Crumble topping over muffins
Bake at 375 degrees for 16-18 minutes
This makes 24 muffins and they freeze well

Build houses and live in them;
and plant gardens and eat their produce.
Jeremiah 29:5

5 thoughts on “Rhubarb Muffins

  1. Harriet Haagsma says:

    Grandma Boogerds simple Rhubarb Cake recipe: 9″X13″ pan
    350 degrees 45 minutes
    Cream: 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
    1/2 cup oleo
    Mix & add to creamed mixture:
    1 egg. 1/2 tsp salt
    1 tsp. vanilla. 1 cup sour milk or buttermilk
    2 cup flour. 2 cup dices rhubarb
    1 tsp. baking powder
    Pour in greased cake pan.
    Topping: Mix and sprinkle over cake mixture:
    1/2 cup granulated sugar 1 tsp cinnamon
    1 tsp melted oleo. 1/2 cup nuts (opt)

    Like

  2. Linda K says:

    Cant wait to try the muffins. I have so many rhubarb recipes I wouldn’t know which one to post so since you mentioned punch I will give you a couple of those.
    Rhubarb Drink
    Cook & Strain:
    8 qts rhubarb, cut up
    8 qts water
    To the juice add:
    1-46 oz can unsweetened pineapple juice
    4 cups sugar or 3 1/2 cups honey (or to taste)
    1 small box strawberry jello

    Boil all together. May be canned to use later. Can add 7 up when serving if you want a punch.

    Rhubarb Slush
    8 c rhubarb
    2 qts water
    3 c sugar
    1/2 c lemon juice
    1 pkg cherry or strawberry jello

    Cook rhubarb until tender and strain. Use only the juice and add the rest of the ingredients. Freeze. To use, thaw slightly and add 7 up. So refreshing when coming in from an afternoon of gardening:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

