Seasons

Waiting to Bloom

I walked past my flower garden the other day on the way to the vegetable garden to plant potatoes.  The flower garden definitely looked like it needed some spring cleaning.  I thought I had cleaned it up last fall, but looking at it now, I can see I did not do a very good job.

The weather is finally warming up to where I want to be outside.  It is time to get out the rake and clean away all the dead stalks, seed heads, and bits of random stuff that seems to blow around in the country and land in your flower beds.

My flower garden reflects my life.  There is the season where it looks pretty good.  When the Black Eyed Susans are standing tall and yellow, waving in the breeze, when the purples of the Russian Sage are full of  bees collecting pollen, when the  Gerber Daisies are blooming and it all looks beautiful.  Then there are the other seasons…..

There are the seasons where it looks like a mess… my life and my garden. The days, sometimes weeks or even longer, where all you see is the dead stalks and random stuff laying there. These are the days where the waiting seems endless and the sun refuses to shine and warm you up. These are the days that call for perseverance.

After the Winter

These are the days when the only thing to fall back on is faith.

In simple humility,
let our gardener God,
landscape you with the Word,
making a salvation-garden of your life.
James 1: ~21 The Message Translation

I found this verse on a blog called Eyes On Christ  when I was googling for Bible verses related to gardening. I loved the translation from the Message.  It proves to me that God is in control of this mess called my life.

It tells me that He does make beauty out of the dead stalks, seed heads and random stuff.  It gives me hope that the garden of my life will bloom again with a riot of blues, yellows oranges, reds and every color He has put on this earth.  It is a reminder that through every season there is a purpose and a plan that is greater than me.

Sometimes it is good to be reminded that the season will change.  It will not stay stuck in this hard place or this good place forever. Sometimes it is good to take a step back, remember to breathe, and look at the potential of this particular season.  It is good to open our eyes; and find hope in the fact that, when you look around there are others who are waiting to help and wait beside you…..you are not alone.

It is good to call to mind that when the wait is over…the flowers will be there and they will bloom.  May this post find you hopeful, in the waiting, during whatever season you are currently in.  May this post find you looking for the flowers that you know will be coming.

Blooming

 

This is a picture of my tulips last year.  I am waiting in hopeful anticipation for the flowers that will grow and bloom this season.

Flowers seem intended for the solace of ordinary humanity.
~John Ruskin

 

Leave a Reply

