Planting Season!!

Soil Preparation.JPG

The time is finally here and the waiting…..the endless waiting season is over!

Two weeks ago my husband thought he would have long been in the field by now.  Then…..the rain started. It rained and rained and then rained some more.  The river has come up quite a ways in the last week.

Little Rock River

When if finally quit raining, there was the waiting time for the fields to dry enough to run the disk through them.  It is a good thing my husband is a fairly patient man – fairly.  I would have wanted to be out there a few days ago.  We have to keep reminding ourselves that if you get in the fields too fast after rain you will battle rock hard clods of dirt all year long. (I probably should not say we…I have to remind myself).

It is an exciting time of the year.    I love the smell of the earth as it is turned over and prepared for the seeds that will grow and the promise of the crop to come.  It is always amazing to me when the sea gulls seem to show up out of nowhere once you start turning the soil over.

I am never quite sure if farming is a gamble or a matter of trust.  There is so much hope and anticipation when putting that seed in the ground. All the time and effort spent to prepare for that and then waiting once again for it to grow and eventually be harvested.

There is a rightness to this cycle of farming. Seedtime and harvest and all the waiting that happens during the in-between time. There is the prayer for timely rains and the prayers for the times of too much rain.  There are the times of faith needed when that rain doesn’t come when we think it should; faith that God’s got it and knows what we really need and when we really need it.

There is the letting go after doing everything you possibly can….planting the right variety of seed, using the correct amount of fertilizer, adjusting every dial and gauge on your machinery. The time comes when you realize that your livelihood is in much bigger and more capable hands than yours.

Those are the times I realize that farming really isn’t a gamble; it IS a matter of trust.  It is a matter of obedience and being where you are supposed to be and doing what you were put on this earth to do.

Ready for Seed The older I get the more I love the different seasons I get to be part of as a farm wife.  There is an age old rhythm and melody to this occupation. It is a beautiful parallel to the rhythm of the song of our lives….the springs, the rains, the hot summers, the crisp autumns, and the biting cold of winter. And the sureness that your favorite season will come full circle for you to enjoy again.

I do think the older I get the faster those seasons seem to come.  I used to laugh when my folks would say that.  It isn’t so funny anymore….. it has become truth. Looking on the bright side – the seasons I love best just come that much faster!

You cause the grass to grow for the livestock
and plants for man to cultivate,
that he may bring forth food from the earth.

Psalm 104:14 ESV

“Farming is a profession of hope”
Brian Brett

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Planting Season!!

  1. goldenbrodie says:

    I love the seasons as well. In Virginia, we enjoy the contrasts in nature, going full circle and….I love having a wardrobe that fits each season. The changes are renewing for me. You have the enjoyment of watching the growth of your farm…taking chances sure..but WOW! I would love to have the opportunity. Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thechickengrandma says:

    We are not big farmers like some around here but I do love it! Grew up in a small town but totally love being a farm wife. Not always so crazy about below zero temps in the winter but it sure does make me appreciate when spring comes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

