We Are Family….I Got All My Sisters……

pedis 2016

I am totally showing my age with that title.  If you found yourself singing that Pointer Sisters song you might be showing yours also!

The tune went through my head today.  My mom turned 82 and we, once again, continue a tradition we started when she turned 80.  Our tradition entails mom, her only sister, and my sisters all going for pedicures.(Mom usually chooses a manicure instead.)  Up until mom turned 80 she had never had a pedi or a manicure by a professional.

We had so much fun that first time that we decided we needed to do this every year.  It is a great time spent with family and specifically the women of the family. A multi-generational sister day.

This year we chose to try a place that just opened in Orange City – Lavish Nails.  They did a great job making us feel welcome and had plenty of chairs so we could all sit and have our nails done at the same time.

As women, we figured we had better arrive before our appointment time as we knew it would take us a long time to pick out a nail polish color. There are way too many choices in nail polish color and in the designs you can have painted on your big toe nail.   You just have to get a design on your big toe!! The sparklier the better.  (that might not be a word.)

After being pampered we decided we really needed to head over to a place called DeZoeteWinkel. Their frozen yogurt was amazing and so many choices!!  I have never purchased a frozen treat by weight before today.  I am happy to report they only weighed the frozen yogurt and not us.

I highly recommend checking this place out.  The Salted Caramel Pretzel was great……but then so was the Strawberry Cheesecake….and the French Vanilla with toppings…….

My sister tried the Yellow Cake Batter and it was unbelievable how much it did taste like cake batter. I have come to the conclusion it is good I don’t live anywhere close to the frozen yogurt shop.  It tastes way to good.

I am not sure why we always think we need to have a special occasion to gather.  We shouldn’t really need to have an excuse to have a fun day with our family. If it were New Years it would be a great resolution – have more fun times with your family, don’t wait for a special reason. And especially hang out with your sisters.

I am finding that the older I get the more I appreciate my family.  Sisters are a wonderful gift and sister in laws that turn into sisters are a bonus. Spending a day with my sisters, mom and aunt always reminds me — Family is a blessing.

“A sister is a little bit of childhood
that can never be lost.”
 Marion C. Garretty quotes

A sister is one who reaches for your hand and touches your heart.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “We Are Family….I Got All My Sisters……

  1. goldenbrodie says:

    Such cute feet! I’m feeling blessed that I have a sister who is my best friend. She live in WV and I’m in VA, so we are 1 1/2 drive away. We see each other about every three months but we talk nearly everyday or at the least text. She is beyond my words. I love her so much. I enjoyed your post very much…especially as we approach Mother’s Day.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

