Lessons from the Grandkids

Water fun

 

We are in our second day of parenting/grandparenting.  So far …… so good. The first day was spent running through the mud left by the rain.  Then I had the bright idea to let them clean off their “mud feet” in the barrel that catches rain water.  By the time they were done the barrel was empty, they still had mud on their feet and they were soaked…but happy.

When we picked the kiddoes up, my son told us “just treat them like you treated us.” Some of those things I remember like yesterday and some are lost to the fog of time.  That may or may not be a good thing! I think it might be both.

I am quickly relearning that much of the day seems to be spent repeating the same tasks over and over and over.  And then over again.  It seems like my fridge door is hanging open much of the time and I am reminding little ones to shut the door and put that yogurt back.

I have tripped over toys, slipped on puzzle pieces and picked up crayons ……more than once. I have not hauled out those little land mines called legos.  The memory of stepping on those things in the middle of the night is still amazingly clear.

I am learning from these little ones.  I am learning to enjoy the moment as it comes.  Don’t plan too far in the future.  Enjoy snacks often and don’t worry that they will run out or that they may be fattening.  Ask questions and always be curious about everything.

It is good to sit in the garage and watch it rain.  It is the perfect opportunity to watch birds and ask Grampa about worms and bugs and why birds eat worms and bugs.

Their joy in the small things is contagious. There is nothing that cannot be turned into something to play with.  Playing with a piece of yarn is a great time…..you can tie things up or turn it into a ball and toss it. Clothes hangers become anything you want them to be. Coloring books and crayons are so much fun.  And if Grandpa gives you a box…..the possibilities are endless.

Relocated Teapots

My teapots and other “pretties” have found new places to hang out while watching “Busy People” by Richard Scarry. I am kind of surprised this video still works.  Our own boys watched that thing so often we can still sing the song from memory.

I have a feeling, by the time, we turn them over to the next set of grandparents we will be exhausted.  It will be a good kind of tired though.  One with lots of memories for the grandparents and grandkids.

Wouldn’t it be great if someone told us to go lay down and take a nap?  I am pretty sure I did not appreciate that opportunity either when I was young.

My mom often said raising children is for young people.  I think she may be right. I have also heard that getting small children to do what you want, when you want, is like nailing jello to a tree.

Well, tomorrow is another day.  Another day that is destined to be full of adventures.  It has been so much fun seeing the world through the eyes of a 2 year old and a 4 year old. When  Grandpa and I were using small Tupperware glasses at supper our grandson asked why we were using kid glasses.  I told him I wanted to be a kid again.  He laughed….I smiled……I was kind of serious on that one….

 

While we try to teach our children all about life,
Our children teach us what life is all about.
~Angela Schwindt

 

 Grandchildren are the crowning glory
and ultimate delight of old age
Proverbs 17:6a

 

5 thoughts on “Lessons from the Grandkids

  1. thecobweboriumemporium says:

    I lived every moment of this post with you.
    Such a beautifully written piece, and written with such love.
    As a Grandparent myself I can relate. I can also testify to how tired and worn out you get when you have your Grandchildren to stay. It takes Mr. Cobs and I a good 24 hours to recover from a day visit each week, of our Grandson. Bless his beautiful heart.
    Much love ~ Cobs. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

