Outwit, Outplay, Outlast

Mama and Baby Groundhogs.JPG

My husband told me to take a look out our living room window this evening. There on our lawn were two groundhogs – a mom and one of her babies. I took a picture of them through the window as I was afraid they would take off if I went outside.

After seeing them browsing away on dandelions I became a little concerned about my garden and flowers. I decided I had better take a look and make sure my plants had not been used for dinner.

I have discovered in my years as a farm wife, who loves to garden and grow plants, that it can be difficult with the little furry herbivores around.

You would think that my husband would take care of this issue with his trusty rifle…… not so. I have also discovered in my time as a farm wife that my husband may or may not be addicted to rabbits, ground hogs, and squirrels. Not addicted to shooting them, but addicted to keeping them around and watching them….in fact feeding them.  I wonder if there is a group for this?

I do have to admit that I do also enjoy watching them.  I just do not enjoy watching them munch on my stuff. It would be a fine thing if they stuck to dandelions and clover. They have not honored that agreement (or maybe they never knew there was one) so I have been reduced to outwitting, outplaying and outlasting.

I think I may be losing.

My Gerber Daisies were nearly decimated within two days of putting them in the ground.  They are now confined to gallon cans and buckets. I am hoping as they get bigger I can uncover them.

I had protected my Astragalus (started from seed given to me by a friend) with a bucket till it reached a respectable size. Once I removed the bucket it only took one night and it was half the size it had been. Needless to say the bucket is back on.

To protect our garden, my husband has started making really nifty 10′ panels of chicken wire. I am pretty sure his main concern are the beans, peas and carrots.  I have learned to incorporate my tomatoes, peppers, cabbage and onions in the same area so they are all protected by the panels.

Last year our local news station ran a story about someplace in a North Dakota neighborhood that was infested with jackrabbits.  They showed photos of those gigantic rabbits (or should I say hares?) relaxing and lounging around in people’s backyards and eating their shrubs.  My husband was in awe and jealous because we no longer have jackrabbits around here. I was incredibly grateful they had moved elsewhere!

Maybe there is some life lesson I am supposed to learn from this struggle of wildlife versus my plants? I should probably keep pondering on that one.

Maybe there will come a day that I am not reduced to hiding my plants under buckets and cans….I don’t really think that will be anytime soon.  For the last few years my husband keeps saying he might have to get rid of a few in the winter time.  I think we have the luckiest rabbits around. They all still have their feet and are running around on them.

In the meantime, I think I should go purchase some more chicken wire…….

“You wascally wabbit….”
Elmer Fudd

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Outwit, Outplay, Outlast

  1. goldenbrodie says:

    Bon idée! They love carrot tops, garden vegetables and flowers. They live in our area and can make such a mess of gardens. I have lost many a sweet flower to the deer and after much heart ache….I told myself they were surviving and I should get a grip. So far so good this season. Each morning I rise to grab the coffee and check for damage. We shall see. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • thechickengrandma says:

      LOL!! I pot my daisies up for the winter (as our climate would kill them in the wintertime) and put them in my dad’s plumbing shop. He has a great south window. I really LOVE my daisies and figured if I did not kill off the clover in the lawn they would leave my flowers alone. I was wrong…….

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

