Peanut Butter Bars

Peanut Butter Bars

I have been having some issues with my blog site.  I am not sure why but it might be just the way this week is turning out.  Sometimes life just piles extra stuff on to what a person has planned.

I knew I would be spending 3 days in the hospital with a family member who had surgery. I knew that would take up my days as it was a 1 1/2 hour drive …. one way. I didn’t realize how tired I would be just sitting there!

What I did not know was that I would also be washing machine shopping (see Monday’s post). I also did not know that my blog would be having technical issues.  It would not let me into my drafts, it would not let me leave comments on those blogs I love to follow (now you know why there has been a looming silence from the Chicken Grandma), it really would not let me do anything. I do love technology …… when it works.

I will give you a little report: Surgery went well, I have my machine picked out (not many “bells and whistles” on it and that is good with me), and obviously I am back up and running in the blog department.

I should learn not to get frustrated when this stuff happens. I have learned ……slightly…..when I just walked away from the computer Wednesday and muttered, “all righty then – no blog post today.” I must admit I don’t think I was muttering graciously.

Today’s post is going to be quite short due to all the above-mentioned items and sweet corn ripening in the field that urgently needs picking and freezing. What I do have for you today is a recipe for some delicious bars.

These are some of the best bars…..I think it might be the frosting. It is the creamiest, smoothest frosting and tastes wonderful due to the peanut butter in it. When eating these I try console myself that they do contain protein in the form of peanut butter…….it might be a delusion but I am sticking to it.

Peanut Butter Bars
1 Cup white sugar
1 Cup brown sugar
1/2 Cup vegetable shortening
1/2 cup oleo
1 Cup creamy peanut butter
1 Lg. egg
1 Tablespoon vanilla
2 Cups flour
1/2 Tablespoon baking soda
1 Teaspoon salt
Cream sugars, shortening, oleo, peanut butter and vanilla for  minutes.
Add eggs and mix 2 minutes.
Add rest of the ingredients.
Bake at 350° for 25 minutes
Frosting
3 1/2 Cups powdered sugar
1 1/2 Sticks oleo
1/2 Cup peanut butter
1/2 Tablespoon vanilla
1/3 Cup milk

OOPS!!!!!   Someone called to my notice that I forgot pan size. I use a jelly roll, cookie sheet, bar pan (whatever you call it) approximately 11×15 pan.
and it works really good if you do not spread it all the way to the edges as it tends to expand a lot.

And now I am wondering what do you do when life throws you some things that you really think are one to many at a time?  I am personally working with myself on the verse below. I have to say it is not always easy….especially when it involves my laptop!

  Whoever is  slow to anger has great understanding,
but he who has a hasty temper exalts folly.

Proverbs 14:29

 

 

30 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Bars

  1. Nelvina says:

    Sounds like you are over the hump for now. Prayers are with you and Larry for God`s healing mercies,. and all to be even better, and stronger after this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. goldenbrodie says:

    I just might try these bars! Glad that the surgery went well. I work on staying calm and avoid any level of anger…it’s so hurtful to my soul….and I so get what you are saying. Glad your blog got it’s life again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. marijo1245 says:

    God’s sense of humor does not always match mine. I always assume he is a fun-loving, good-spirited God who loves a chuckle at us when we think we have it all under control.

    I am glad though, that in the middle of everyday life He is there. Through all the exhaustion of sitting at a bedside, through modern technology that has a mind of its own, washing machine shopping, and corn picking there are peanut butter bars. And that’s just how good our God is…in the middle of chaos, He gives us dessert!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thechickengrandma says:

      You are so right. In looking back at the last few days it was probably a blessing that the techie stuff decided to just take a vacation. It did give me a chance to really focus on my husband and the people who came to visit.
      The washer is ordered, the middle son will pick it up and help me hook it up, and the husband is doing great! Definitely time for dessert :).
      It is good to be back.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. beeorganizedwithpamela says:

    My you have had a busy week. Glad the family is good. Sometimes bells and whistles are overrated. I have found less bells = longer lasting. But maybe this has just been a fluke. Peanut butter bars look very good. I have luncheon tomorrow and I think I will make these. Thanks missed you and I am glad you are back. Have a good weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. peggyjoan42 says:

    Life and technology overwhelm me quite often. Lol As you get into your 50s and beyond, age just wears you out. Ha Glad the surgery went well, very nice of you to sit at the hospital. Hope the coming week slows down for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. PaperPuff says:

    These look delicious! As you say, technology is great, when it works and sometimes, fleetingly, feels like a violation of our basic human rights when it goes wrong. Until ‘perspective’ kicks in and we remember that we used to have to do this stuff with carrier pigeons!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

