Life is Hard…Share Hope

thunderheads with verse.jpg

There are some days when life seems like it is just running along smoothly, the sky shines brighter, the air smells sweeter and the day just seems to shine like gold. And then there are days that are not any of those things.

Those are the days that seem to stretch into eternity. The days that you know have changed life forever and you know that you will have to find an entirely new “normal”.

In the last two days there are people I know and love who are having to deal with things in life that really make you wonder what kind of plan God actually has. These are people who are having to put aside all the hopes and dreams that life seemed to promise. Their stories are not mine to tell so I will leave it at that.

The flip side of this story is mine, yours, and anyone else who knows of someone who needs to know that God is still faithful, that He still loves and that God knows the road they are traveling. He knows the end to this new beginning.

I think in times of hardship, death, loss, we have been put in place by God to be there for others.  Not to just offer words that don’t penetrate the fog of loss, but to offer us.  To offer our love, our caring, our tears, our hugs……US.

In the offering of us…..we offer hope……hope that life will not stay this hard. Hope that God has not forgotten. Hope that family, friends, acquaintances share in the struggle. Hope that “Joy does come in the morning.” (Psalm 30:5b).

I probably write this to ease all the feelings I have swirling inside me just thinking of the two phone calls I received this week. The feelings of inadequacy in not knowing what to do or say in situations where there really are no words. Trying to make sense of the tears that threaten to fall and run down my face. I know that if I feel this way; how much harder it must be for those walking that dark road now and dealing with that loss in the years ahead.

A year or so ago the Pizza Ranch put out a CD titled “Living Hope”  It is a variety of artist singing songs that speak hope to a hurting world.  One of my favorites is called “Hold On To Hope” by Ellie Holcomb. It is a song that comes to mind for the dark days and long roads. It makes me want to be there for those walking that road.

I want to be a hope giver, I want to let people know they are not alone, I want to breathe life and hope into darkness, I want to be Jesus with skin on. I want them to see the love of God reflected from me. I think that is what I am called to be. I think that is what we are all called to be. I know I can’t do that job perfectly and I usually fall far short…..but I do know that God can take what I have and use it for His good.

Let us be hope to someone, somewhere today.

 

  Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for,
the conviction of things not seen.
Hebrews 11:1

 

17 thoughts on “Life is Hard…Share Hope

  1. thecobweboriumemporium says:

    Sometimes, I think that all we need to do for some people who are going through a time of troubles, is give them the opportunity to talk. To unburden. We don’t have to have the answers, we just need to have the ears. Not just to listen, but to actually hear.
    <emBeautiful post CG.
    Sending you a hug ~ Cobs. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. marijo1245 says:

    My mom used to remind me that some times we just need Jesus with skin. In our down and out moments, having someone tangible to speak hope is immeasurable! May God bless, strengthen, and equip you as you shine Hope in the dark hours of another’s world.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. goldenbrodie says:

    Your words have renewed me as we go through the other side of mourning in our family. Hope springs in some of us sometimes and in others it is eternal. I am finding a strength that I did not know…and you with yours is my Hope. So thankful for your words and Peaceful wishes for you and yours. Brodie sends golden kisses.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

