New Beginnings

Water Over the Dam.JPG

This is my normal day to do a blog post and it has been a busy day as we have been gone for most of it. I needed a little inspiration so I headed over to the daily post. I saw there was a photo prompt for a photo that speaks of  New Horizons.

I started looking through my photos and came upon the one I posted above.  It was taken at a small park in a town 10 miles from where I live.  I love this park and through the years we have taken our children here to picnic, to fish, and to just walk around. I am looking forward to taking our grandchildren to enjoy this park in the coming years.

Water going over the dam in this park, speaks of new beginnings to me. Once that water is over it is not going to be getting back to the old place it came from.  So much of life is like that……once a choice is made you cannot go back and you must press forward even if it is difficult and uncomfortable. Sometimes life just carries you over places you don’t want to be and sends you down a stream you had not intended to go.

You can either look at this as a negative or an amazing positive. With a new year just around the corner, I think there is so much opportunity to make fresh starts and try new things. I am not a resolution maker ( I really don’t like failing!) so this is a concept I need to work on.

It is a great time to let go of those things that you cannot change and those things that do not matter. You know…that one situation that just peeves you to no end because you cannot and will not ever be able to fix it?

New Year’s is a great time to use as a starting point for that project you have always wanted to try…..for that book you wanted to read…..for that bible study you wanted to do…and the list goes on. I am going to try look at this coming new year as an adventure to be explored, as a gift I have been given to grow, to learn and to just “do”.

I hope the New year finds me more compassionate, more willing to see another point of view.  I hope it finds me focusing less on things that don’t matter and more on things like people and relationships. I pray that my mind is fixed on God and what that means for practical day to day living.

May the next couple weeks find you and me thinking of the adventures to be had in the coming year. May we see the new horizon as a positive.   May we focus on the view beyond the rough water going over the dam of life and on the living stream beyond.

 Brothers and sisters,
I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.
But one thing I do:
Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,
 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 3:13-14

34 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. A Nenes Life says:

    I don’t do resolutions either but instead pray for something or someway to improve myself such as patience, wisdom or gratitude. I could always use a little more of each! Beautiful picture, I’m sure the little ones are gonna love it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • thechickengrandma says:

      LOL. I was wondering…..I thought maybe you spent too much on boots? and were fast forwarding to more shopping for said boots.
      I have posted comments like that before also. We just have too much going on perhaps?

      Like

    • thechickengrandma says:

      Thank you so much. The journey is joyful even when it is not so good. Seems weird but looking back some wonderful things came out of circumstances that did not look so great at the time. That is why I am going to try look at the new year and all it’s circumstances as an adventure.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. forkwardthinkingfoodinista says:

    Hi I already follow your fab blog, so thought I would share that I am super excited as I am officially in the running for the UK BLOG AWARDS 2017! If you could click the link and choose FoodandDrink&Lifestyle on the drop down menu:
    http://blogawardsuk.co.uk/ukba2017/entries/forkwardthinkingfoodinista
    Thank you kindly in advance your vote is much appreciated
    Melanie xx
    https://forkwardthinkingfoodinista.wordpress.com/2016/12/15/stop-there-is-still-time-to-have-your-say/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. goldenbrodie says:

    Here comes the New Year and with it comes more chances for me to find even more patience and to continue to making lending an ear a priority. Keeping it simple each day and giving thanks. We will have a good good year blogging and staying in touch.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. PaperPuff says:

    Ooh, I got a few goose-bumps there! I am expecting quite a lot of life changes next year. Mostly nice ones, but they will take a bit of effort and gumption, and are unlikely to be easily achieved. I think I might print this out, for when I need it. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

