Missing Candy Canes

candy-canes

I have been having a senior moment today. Actually it has been the last few days of senior moment-itis. (Yes, I realize that is really not a word or condition….but it should be.)  Yesterday I purchased another box of candy canes.  I say another, because a few weeks ago I also purchased a box.

Every Christmas I put candy canes on the tree so we can snack on one every so often. This year I purchased the initial box before the tree was put up. I wanted to make sure that we did not eat them before the tree went up so I put them in a very “special” place to “keep them safe”.

Unfortunately I put them in a place that was too safe.  It is safe, even from my mind.  It is really, really maddening to not remember where that place is! I asked my husband if he knew where they were.  All I got was a blank look.

He remembered we had purchased them. (that was not helpful).  He remembered they had been put away……somewhere. (Also not helpful).  I did feel some better that he did not know where they were either……some….but not much.

Years ago my sister-in-law and I agreed that our brains could only hold so much information at a time.  When the brain got full some information just needed to be kicked out. I think with the busyness of the season my brain decided the hiding place of candy canes was not important and just deleted that information.

I don’t know if there is a life lesson to be found in my missing candy canes. Maybe it is the fact that life is too short to stress over candy canes? Maybe the lesson is that candy canes are not the focus of Christmas? Perhaps the lesson is patience….those candy canes will show up when the time is right for them to show up.  Maybe they will be found when the grandkids come and are scrounging around in only places grandkids look.

I suspect they will be found when I get the house ready for the kids to come next week for the Christmas holiday.  At least that is what I am hoping for.  If this does not occur I have a feeling they will show up at some odd, random time and be a very nice surprise.

I do wonder if anyone else has problems with this particular issue of putting things away too “safely”. I have a feeling the canes will probably show up when I put some other item in that “very safe place”. At least candy canes are not too perishable….it would have been much worse if the turkey went missing…..

 

As you get older three things happen.
The first is your memory goes, and I can’t remember the other two.

 

 

55 thoughts on “Missing Candy Canes

  1. Anne Mehrling says:

    You are in very good company, Faye. Last year our three magi took a leave of absence. They disappeared. Vanished! All the other characters were clustered about the baby Jesus. We wondered if precious neighbor Logan took them to play with. Months later they were peering at me from the drawer right below where they should have been standing at attention during Christmas. NOBODY remembers putting them there. Bet they wish they had been hidden with your candy canes.

    Liked by 4 people

    • thechickengrandma says:

      I am really curious to know where I am going to find them! My luck they will be stashed in the freezer or something. I cannot believe I have no idea at all.
      Maybe your wisemen thought they needed a little break and were hiding out….maybe they WERE looking for candy canes?

      Liked by 3 people

  2. susieshy45 says:

    I have the squirrel mind too and I don’t like to think of myself as old, yet. 🙂
    I buy the same food item again and again and again because me and my helper we don’t know what we have, and we buy what we think we need, which is not actually what we need as it is still there at home( confusing eh?). I bury things – even books – and have duplicates of some books too.
    It is funny, frustrating and annoying, not to mention, a waste of good money.
    Susie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bcparkison says:

    Bless your heart. I’ve bee there too. Several years ago I made every one memento cards with pictures of my mother ,in several stages of her life, for her 80th birthday party. It was a thank you for those who came… mostly family members…cousins . I put my copy away so I could remember how I made it in case I ever wanted to do it again. 13 years later I still haven’t come across it. I wish you better finding.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. A Nenes Life says:

    My brain deletes things way too often like where the car keys are, my favorite lotion, my sunglasses and on occasion I have to really think about what day it is (I don’t keep track since I stopped working). 😊
    Good luck finding your candy canes!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Deb says:

    Oh yes that “safe place” is like a black hole!! I learned a trick, instead of saying I can’t remember, say “it will come to me”, and you know what…it does! Maybe you aren’t remembering right now because the 1st set of candy canes are to be used to stir your hot chocolate with!! Oh I like that idea…and I agree with you and your sister that the brain dumps what it feels is no longer useful info, even if you feel it is. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. PaperPuff says:

    Lol! Shall I tell you some of what must be in my ‘safe place’ at the moment? My passport; my new mobile phone (although I had not switched over from the old one yet); umpteen odd socks and hair bands; a bar of my favourite chocolate; several dies and SETS of rubber stamps….I could go on. You are not alone! Enjoy the candy canes when they turn up!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jessica says:

    Oh my gosh, I can never find ANYTHING. I think our house swallows stuff. Maybe you’ll find your peppermint-y treat in February and then you’ll have a nice laugh and use them as coffee stirrers! cold

    Liked by 1 person

      • Jessica says:

        Oh lord, I told my husband if this house is ever moved off its foundation, someone will be in for a shock when they see a pile of what-nots underneath it!!

        If your luck is like mine, you’ll find them when you’re looking for something else! That’s funny about “cold” because when I hit backspace, it wouldn’t budge! It had something to say!! Ha ha. ☃☃

        Liked by 1 person

  8. kindergartenknowledge says:

    Those candy canes just were not meant for your tree this week! I would put the grandchildren on search and rescue duty when they arrive for Christmas! Last week, I became totally distressed because I couldn’t find the shampoo and conditioner that I had bought earlier at Walmart. I brought my shopping bags into the house and put everything away. I looked all over the pantry, in the cabinets, even the refrigerator. I was mentally accusing the checker of not putting them in a bag. The next day…I found them in the car…I never even got that bag out of the car. Never, ever did I think about looking in the car!! Right now I am missing three pair of my socks, my favorite jeans, and a new jar of Old English Cheese!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thechickengrandma says:

      I think your socks and jeans ran away with your cheese! That sounds like a great nursery rhyme doesn’t it?
      I have often had to go out to the car and find that last bag of stuff. And yes I usually am mentally accusing the kid who takes my groceries to the car of not putting them in there.
      I just wish I had some recollection of where I would have put them…..total blank on that one and that is a little odd for me. My husband suggests we just blame the kids (even though none of them live at home anymore.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • kindergartenknowledge says:

        Yes! By all means, blame the children! Have they been over to visit? It would only take a minute to accidentally put those candy canes in their car…for safe-keeping, of course! The boys definitely are the answer…it could not be your memory! Write a poem about my cheese and jeans having a party with my socks! I would accuse our daughter of borrowing my jeans, but she wears a SIZE 3! Not fair at all! I never wore a 3…EVER! She would definitely take the cheese!

        Liked by 1 person

      • thechickengrandma says:

        We actually did purchase them before my entire family and our kids were here for Thanksgiving. Perhaps it was my sisters! They would probably hide them just to watch me wander about looking for them.

        Like

  9. Regina, Catchy Sketch says:

    It really “would have been much worse if the turkey went missing”! This made me laugh!

    Sometimes we also manage to hide something from ourselves so that we can’t find it… It seems like everybody does this.

    The only thing that I can suggest – imagine, that you want hide this box of candy canes in a safe place… what place it would be? Maybe the previous box is there…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. thecobweboriumemporium says:

    I know not of what is going on with my Reader, but it’s not showed me this post or any of the posts you made after this one. So … I’m going to ‘unfollow’ and follow you again to see if it puts things right.

    But anyhoo …. what was I going to say … erm … now see, I’ve forgotten.
    Oh! Yes … the candy-cane mystery.
    I too forget where I’ve put things *for safety*. I have hiding in our wee house here all sorts of things which have gone into a safe place, and haven’t seen the light of day since. SO so many things that I’ve now declared our home as “Dorsets answer to the Bermuda Triangle!”.

    It is. It really, really is.
    You’re not alone.
    erm … who was I talking to again???
    lol
    Love ~ Cobs x

    Liked by 1 person

      • thechickengrandma says:

        One year my mom thought she would be ahead of the game. She purchased Christmas gifts in the summer and put them away. By the time Christmas rolled around she forgot she had purchased them and bought more. The next year as she was cleaning out the attic she came across them. She just doled them out as she figured if she waited once again for Christmas she would forget again!

        Liked by 1 person

      • thecobweboriumemporium says:

        laughing gently here.

        Oh, God Bless Mom.

        God Bless Moms, everywhere. Some of them are better than others, and some of them muddle along trying to do the best in the situation they find themselves in. And some of them miss the ‘goal’. But … let God Bless them and keep them and send someone to those who need help and need to be set on the right path.

        God Bless you Chicken… you, I feel, are a Great Mom.
        Oodles of love and lots of squidges ~ Cobs. x

        Like

  11. helbergfarmstories says:

    HAHAHAHA – mine is hereditary…my mother used to love to get things throughout the year, then “hide” them for safe keeping. come Christmas and cant remember where she hid it (sometimes what “it” was or who for – hee hee). I have the same memory-ites issues (my stupid computer wont let me spell it right- ha ha!) as you. Nice to know I am not alone in this wonderful group! Woo hoo!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

