It’s a Blogiversary

Raise Chickens.jpg

I cannot really believe it!  I have been blogging for a whole year. My kids had been after me for a long time to try this thing called blogging. Last year when my daughter-in-law, Becca, set this up for me I would have found it hard to imagine that one year later I would have written 163 posts. It has been so much fun.

My husband still shakes his head about this whole blogging endeavor. He’ll ask, “Making any money blogging?” (accompanied by a smirk and a laugh.) I tell him “Nope.”  Then he asks, “So is it kind of like having  pen pals?”  Then I smirk and laugh and tell him “Yep!” I also never dreamed I would meet so many absolutely wonderful people.

Tonight I just reread that first post from January 31, 2016.  I still have some of those same question that I asked back then…..Will anyone really want to read what I have written?  Will people really care what I think?  And the amazing answer is Yes!!!! That fact still boggles my mind.

People will ask me what the main focus of my blog is. I am still not sure how to answer that one and typically grin and tell them it is very random. I tell them it is just a blog of life in general; that covers topics from farming, chickens, gardening, crafting, faith, family and pretty much anything else life throws my way.  Hopefully it is a blog filled with love, humor, hope and encouragement and a few life lessons tossed in.

Back to the people I have met along the way on this blogging journey.  There are so many of you that I would love to meet in person. You are beautiful, honest, down-to-earth, funny, joy filled and life loving, gracious people. You share your lives honestly….the joys and the struggles.  You share the things that make you laugh and cry. You use your life experiences to make others laugh, lift them up and find hope. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking time to like, comment and offer friendship and encouragement to this Chicken Grandma.

I am so looking forward to this coming year of blogging.  I am looking forward to meeting more of you and getting to know what makes up your life. I am hoping to love more, encourage more and bring hope.

Let me know what you want to see over at the Chicken Grandma and I will see what I can do! Like I said it is pretty random over here. Life over here is rather like that box of chocolates that Forrest Gump talked about. You never quite know what you are going to get on any given day.

May your day be filled with hope. May you feel grace from those around you and may you be a blessing in return.

      This is the day that the LORD has made;
let us rejoice and be glad in it.
Psalm 118:24

Read more: http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/bible-verses-about-hope-20-uplifting-scripture-quotes/#ixzz4XUvN5XL0

 

 

66 thoughts on “It’s a Blogiversary

  1. A Nenes Life says:

    One year of blogging, that’s fantastic! Cheers to you and your chickens (and daughter-in-law for getting you started)! I love reading your blog and all the goings on around your place in your world. It’s been a pleasure getting to know you. Keep up the great work and best wishes for many more years of blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. marijo1245 says:

    Hooray!! I for one and glad you blog, and glad I found you! This wannabe farm girl live vicariously through you and your chickens. I think it was somewhere through a post of corn we found each other!

    Ps…I had to drive up to Omaha yesterday and saw a million farm houses in corn fields and though of you endlessly!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jocelyn Meinders says:

    Wow! One year! Time sure does fly! Congratulations on your blogiversary – love it! It’s been so fun to follow your journey & I feel like I know you so much better because of your blog! You are a blessing & a talented writer – you share your heart & your passions & let us in your world!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Regina, Catchy Sketch says:

    Congratulations on your Blogiversary! I like reading your posts on any topic 🙂
    Just learning about life in U.S. and finding something interesting, thoughtful or fun

    I also set up my blog on January 31, 2016, but it took me a while to choose a theme, figure out the structure and everything else and even more to start, as I had the same question, if anyone will be interested in reading my posts. Finally I found card making challenges and just started to post.

    I’m very happy that I found your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Deb says:

    Happy 1 Year Blogiversary!!! I’m so grateful for meeting you too. I love your posts whatever they are about they always interest me. You have such wise words of wisdom to share. You’re funny and fun and I love learning about the Girls too! I love that your blog is random and that you write about whatever is happening at the moment, like losing candy canes!! I love the photos that you share, the quotes, the verses from the Bible, everything!! You and your blog are precious to me!!! I’m looking forward to another year with you too!! Much love, Deb xo 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. rabbitpatchdiary.com says:

    well happy anniversary!!! Bet it won’t surprise you my anniversary is just a few weeks away!! I love your blog as is!! I can depend on a good read every time and your heartfelt post just made me cry-what a beautiful heart you have!! Best wishes for many more years and continued success!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. kindergartenknowledge says:

    Happy Blogiversary #1!!! I believe that you have accomplished so very much during the past year…communicating with people from around the world…sharing your beliefs…feeding your ladies…being a happy farm wife…a mom to obviously amazing children…and a new friend to me! I don’t know if you found me or if I found you or if God put us together. I choose choice #3 because I know that we have way too much in common for “happen-chance” to be the reason! Congratulations on your many friendships. Congratulations on sharing your talent. Thank you for being someone particularly special! Plus…you are the very first person for me to meet from Iowa! Plus…you have a schoolhouse! Plus… you have made me realize that I can live very happily on our farm! Mike thanks you too!!!!! From…Pat…one year at the end of March!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thechickengrandma says:

      Thank you thank you Pat! I choose #3 also. Cannot wait to celebrate your blogiverary.
      I think the being able to live on a farm is that content in wherever you are Biblical thing :). (and then it really kind of just wraps itself around you.) Plus I have found out that it is not where I am but who I am with.
      If you do visit Iowa you will have to detour through the NW portion…..and if I get to Texas I will have to come visit you!

      Like

      • kindergartenknowledge says:

        Thank you for your comment! Yes…I agree with you about being content wherever you are! You might not realize how much you have helped me to be excited about moving to the farm! I just want to keep my Fort Worth ties in place! We will definitely try to make it up to Iowa after Mike retires…and for sure make a swing NW…it would be so great to visit you AND to visit those Decorah eagles! Every year when I showed the eagle progress to my class… each day for 3 or 4 months…we would look at the map of Iowa that I put up on the wall, show a lot of pictures of Iowa on the big screen smartboard…talk about all of the farmlands! Funny…I would tell the children that I really had not been there and did not know anyone in Iowa…that by reading books and searching on the computer, the whole world would open to us! Well! That was such a true statement! Amazing!!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. A. Michelle! says:

    Every time I visit your blog I find exactly what I am looking for and what I need. Don’t you change a thing! Happy blogiversary!! I love how your stories intertwine with the scriptures…refreshing and yet so satisfying. Proud of you and excited for you! Keep at it Chicken Grandma, my Faye. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jessica says:

    Look at that! A year!! I still want to tell your kids thank you for getting you to start blogging. What a gift to all of us! To me, your blog is about family, life lessons, and friendships. One reason I think I’m drawn to your writing is because it’s heartfelt and engaging. It’s like we could be sitting at the Pizza Ranch having a similar conversation! Congratulations on your blogging anniversary! 🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  10. PaperPuff says:

    Sorry I missed this – life threw a bit of a curve ball recently. Happy Belated Blogaversary! I always enjoy your posts, and I love the variety of subjects. Don’t change anything!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

