Frosting on the Trees

frosting-on-the-tree

Frosting on the Trees

 

We woke up to a very quiet, white world this morning. My husband’s first comment was, ” I thought the weatherman said we were going to get a dusting of snow during the night.” And we did!  It just dusted us under a little more than we anticipated.

It did make for a beautiful sight. The sun shone brightly for the morning and it was actually not too bad for temperature. I went back for the camera because I am not to sure how many more beautiful snowfalls we have left in this season. (I hope not to many! But I was going to enjoy this one.) For some reason a new snowfall seems to bring a silence to the land that holds a strange beauty. It turns the commonplace into something more than it is. It is rather like grace.

the-magic-of-snow

I loved the feeling of being the first one to walk through the snow. I did hesitate just a bit to put those first tracks in the pristine whiteness. As I walked, the snow just glittered and sparkled like someone had tossed a dusting of glitter everywhere. I am constantly amazed at God’s attention to the smallest detail when it comes to things that are beautiful and delightful.  I carefully placed my boots so I would not disturb the smooth snow any more than I had to.

It would have been fun to have the grandkids here. This was the perfect snow for packing, fort-making and snowman construction.  Perhaps I should have just gone ahead and made them anyway? I did not as I was enjoying the beauty of undisturbed snow to much……That is my story and I am sticking with that one!

pristine-view

The Gully ~ a Study in Silent Beauty

 

I knew that by the end of the day our landscape would, once again, look very different from this morning. I knew the mud would be back as the sun melted this snow. I knew there wasn’t long to enjoy this snow…..so I took the time to enjoy it.

So much of life is like that. The “good” things, the wonder and amazement are only here for a short time; just like this snowfall……here this morning and some of it gone by evening. It is a good reminder to stop and take time to just look around and enjoy the gift that is given.

I hope your day held a bit of wonder, a bit of magic and something that made you stop and appreciate the beauty around you.

Snow provokes responses that reach right back to childhood.
Andy Goldsworthy

Read more at: https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/snow.html

Even in winter an isolated patch of snow has a special quality.
– Andy Goldsworthy

 

 

 

37 thoughts on “Frosting on the Trees

  1. kindergartenknowledge says:

    I love the beautiful pictures! And it looks like you were very careful not to make many footprints with your boots! Is that a birdhouse in the gully? We have a gully and a slough and a rock ledge! Isn’t it funny how we name places on our farms? Our farm has a name…Rock Bluff Ranch…all the sudden Mike and the children named it a long while ago…I had no idea what they were talking about! Our friends who have the farm across from us…who still have their house in Dallas and had never lived in the country at all!…have named every one of their trails! They talk about the trails like they are additional children! Your snow is so pretty and I like the way you described how God thinks of every detail! I need to make a point to notice more details…I do notice details at the farm…but not as much in the city!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thechickengrandma says:

      The birdhouse is a wood duck box. Two years ago we had a wood duck that hatched eggs in that one. Last year a flicker claimed it for his own.
      Yes we have the gully, the creek (with another wood duck box that a kestrel family seems to like), the green part etc.
      I think it is easier to notice details in the country. There is less distraction and noise so it seems like everything else stands out a little more.

      Liked by 1 person

      • kindergartenknowledge says:

        True! Today I was on the westside of Fort Worth and the traffic was just too much. I was planning on driving by a house that our daughter likes (house #4 this week…two that I really liked online)…I could not even concentrate on the detail of the street signs and never found it. Too many cars in my way! So I went to Sonic and got a Coke! By then…it was too late so I just came home!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne Mehrling says:

    It was like a breath of fresh air to read your post in praise of snow and its Creator. I love snow, but I think the snow haters outnumber us. It’s either that, or the negative people out-shout us. That’s probably a comment on life in general. I’m going to double my smile and beam at everyone I meet today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

