Gardening, Weeds, and Sugar Scrub

IMG_3535 Tomatoes and Weeds

Healthy Tomatoes & Healthy Weeds

It is definitely the gardening season in our part of the country….or should I say it is definitely the weed-growing season? In the heat of our late spring, the weeds have become overly prolific. The sheer volume of those growing, generally worthless things can be a little overwhelming.

I thought I would share the picture of my tomatoes……before weeding. The weeds are still there due to having gotten 1.2 inches of rain in a couple days ago. The rain was great even though it did put a halt to my weeding for a bit. I cannot honestly say I really felt to bad about having to wait to do more weeding!

I knew that those weeds would not disappear if I waited an extra day to get rid of them. It would be nice if there were a weed fairy who just waltzed in overnight and took off with them! Alas she did not, and I spent time hoeing and pulling said weeds this afternoon.

I do have some milkweed plants that I leave grow behind my summer kitchen/garden shed. I figure the monarch butterflies need all the help they can get so I leave a small patch just for them.

IMG_3538 Milkweeds

“Everything has it beauty, but not everyone sees it.”~Unknown

 

I hope to be rewarded with beautiful monarchs floating by on the summer breezes. I remember as a kid there was nothing quite as exciting as a watching the caterpillar turn into a chrysalis and then into a butterfly.

We used to take the branches they hung on and put them in an old aquarium so we could watch them when they emerged. Once they started the process, we carefully put the stick with the chrysalis outside so the butterfly could unfold and dry it’s new wings in the sun. It was one of the best hands on science lessons I have ever witnessed.

I also remember getting the liquidy stuff of the milkweed on our hands as kids. I have no idea what that stuff was but it stained our hands just as much as dandelions did. I have also found that weeding in the garden can be hard on hands and fingernails and leave some serious stains on skin and under fingernails.

This week I made some sugar scrub that should help with getting those stains off my hands and help get the dirt from under my fingernails. I am going to share the recipe with you so you can make some yourself!

Lemon Sugar Scrub.JPG

Lemon Sugar Scrub
1 cup white sugar
1/4 cup grapeseed oil
20 drops Lemon Essential Oil
8 ounce glass jar
In a glass or stainless steel bowl, mix all ingredients.
Spoon into glass jar
Top off with more grapeseed oil so mix is not dry.
Use whenever you need for greasy hands, paint-spattered hands and anytime you need
to really scrub them.
This smells wonderful and is a great all natural alternative to other cleansers.
NOTE: you can also use sweet almond oil in place of grapeseed oil.

If all else fails with stained fingernails, you can always go ahead and use some dark fingernail polish to mask those stains. I am not sure how this would go over if you are a guy…but as a female gardener….I find that dark purple works wonderfully!

May you have a wonderful weekend. If you are a dad or grandpa may you have a blessed Father’s Day and enjoy your family. And may all your vegetable gardens and flower beds be weed free….. or at least have weeds that are pretty when they bloom.

 

A good garden may have some weeds.
~Thomas Fuller

 

 

 

29 thoughts on “Gardening, Weeds, and Sugar Scrub

  1. kindergartenknowledge says:

    I want to make some of the Lemon Sugar Scrub! No kidding…I have never made anything like that! I needed some last weekend when we had the workdays at the farm! There were several people who surely could have used it…like the guys!!!!! Your tomato plants look wonderful! How many tomatoes will you get? Mike loves, loves, loves tomatoes! I could serve them for dinner with a slice of cheese and he would think that I had made a totally gourmet meal!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thechickengrandma says:

      Sugar scrubs are so easy to make! And work really nice too.
      I have 12 tomatoe plants. a couple years ago I had 36! I love tomatoes and usually plant 4 of the Roma paste type for pizza sauce and salsa. I also love the pink heirloom Brandywine….they are the best sliced on a piece of toast with a bit of salt. mmmmm I cannot wait. I am with Mike…..love love love tomatoes. I wouldn’t even need the slice of cheese.
      It depends on the year how many tomatoes you get. It also depends if the chickens end up sneaking into the garden…they help themselves to the lower hanging ones!

      Like

    • thechickengrandma says:

      I usually do wait till after a rain! This year, we haven’t been getting much rain at all so the weeds were winning. We finally got an inch so I did get caught up somewhat.
      Whoever taught you that trick must be like my mom….that is where I learned it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne Mehrling says:

    I scanned the recipe for your sugar scrub. It sounded so good that I thought, “This stuff might not remove stains under your fingernails, but you could suck on them. Sucking might not render them stainless, but the tips of your fingers would be in your mouth and not visible to others. Mission accomplished!”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. thecobweboriumemporium says:

    GREAT post Chicken.
    Love the recipe for the sugar scrub. (I’d be sniffing my hands for the rest of the day after using it!)
    Wishing your butterflies come for a visit with you.

    Trust you and Chicken Grandpa are keeping well and that you are back to fully functioning again.
    ~ Cobs. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. peggyjoan42 says:

    When you find the weed fairy – send her my way. Our garden is a mess. Have been picking and packing blackberries, certainly can use your recipe to turn my fingers back to their normal color. My milkweed is about done for the year, such a beautiful plant. Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bcparkison says:

    My gardening day must have been really good as there were plenty of weeds. Now it is just weedy flowerbeds that I need to tend to.
    Butterflies are a wonder. Here I mostly have swallowtails and small yellow ones. I do remember once while growing up in Texas visiting a lake one day and the field was full of thousands of Monarchs. They must have been on the move south. Beautiful sight. Good thoughts here. Thank you sweet Chicken Gran.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Al says:

    There is a weed fairy at our house. I’ve never seen her, but my wife has on several occasions.

    The sugar scrub is a fantastic idea. Can I eat it too?

    Gonna pass on the black painted fingernails. Not really into Goth.

    Hope you both enjoy a wonderful Father’s Day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thechickengrandma says:

      If you use the same brand EO I do you probably could eat it! I have a feeling if you did your insides would be clean as well LOL.
      I wonder if that weed fairy has a striking resemblance to your wife???

      Like

  7. Timelesslady says:

    Your tomatoes look great. Mine are just starting to thrive a bit now that the warmer weather has stayed a bit. My weeds are thriving too. Sigh… I like the looks of that milkweed. I would love to have a patch. All my attempts to grow the pod variety have not taken…maybe another year will work for me. The sugar scrub…I could use it…my hands become stained at this time of year and I am also painting thrift store, yard sale, and trash-picked chairs glossy black. Today as I was painting I backed up into one. I found that even after it dried a baby wipe worked to get it off. I like the idea of the sugar scrub though…I don’t have lemon essential oil, but I have grapefruit, I think I will give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thechickengrandma says:

      I bet grapefruit would also work and smell great!
      The milkweeds just kind of grow here….and I let them as long as they are not smack in the middle of my vegetables.
      I laughed about your backing into a chair! I do stuff like that all the time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

