Pasta Casserole

 

Pasta Casserole

I used one of my freezer meals today. Prior to surgery I had put some of these together so my husband would only have to pop them in the oven or microwave the first couple weeks after my surgery.

The one I hauled out for today was the Pasta Casserole one. I have a feeling I found the base recipe somewhere on Pinterest but I have long forgotten where so if this is your recipe and I have not given you credit I apologize. I have tweaked it to my own taste and liking and this is the recipe I ended up with.

Pasta Casserole

Brown and drain:
2 pounds hamburger
1 large onion, chopped
3 Tablespoons Italian Dressing

Add:
2 – 26 ounce Spaghetti or Pizza Sauce
16 ounce elbow or rotini noodles (cooked and drained)
5 cups mozzarella (20 ounces)
Reserve 2 cups of cheese for the top of casseroles.
8 ounces sliced pepperonis for top.

Put in 2 – 9×13 foil pans or equivalent smaller size foil pans.
Put mixture in pans.
Top with reserved cheese.
Top with sliced pepperonis.
Cover and freeze for later use.
or
Bake at 350º for 30 minutes.
If frozen, make sure to thaw completely and Bake at 350º for 35 – 40 minutes.

These work wonderful, when you are in a busy time of life or when you want to bring a meal to someone who is needing one. I tend to make them in 4 square foil pans as it is a filling meal and my husband is not crazy about tomato type products. When I serve this I usually sprinkle some parmesan cheese over the top also.

 I love the fact that with some minimal effort I can have 4 meals in my freezer just waiting to be baked or given away.  I really like that when I have some of these in my freezer there are days I don’t even have to think about what to make…..that is a huge plus at this present time.

I am wondering what are some of your favorite shortcuts when it comes to mealtime? What works  best for you to spend less time prepping for meals everyday and more time enjoying those extra moments with your family instead?

 

The eyes of all look to you, and you give them their food in due season.
You open your hand; you satisfy the desire of every living thing.

Psalm 145:15-16 ESV

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.”
Hippocrates

26 thoughts on “Pasta Casserole

  1. Jeanne Breuer says:

    I make Ree Drummonds frozen tiny meatballs and then make a variety of sauces to go with them. Spaghetti, sweet and sour, stroganoff, meat subs, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne Mehrling says:

    Food philosophy changes. I’ve gone around the bend. When I had one full-time job and one part-time job, I simply came home and threw a meal on the table. We did not eat well. Now that we have retired and moved, I spend more time than ever in the kitchen and am enjoying it very much. We live five miles from town, so I keep meat, chicken, and seafood in the freezer. I cook whatever takes my fancy that day. Bless his heart, John would rather eat whatever I put on the table than have to choose something himself. Yep, big trouble for him if I go first.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. susieshy45 says:

    Faye,
    The recipe looks yummy as you have posted. Since I don’t like pasta, I think I would substitute it with rice and see how it turns out.
    My daughters’ health prevents the two of us from eating wheat products.
    Susie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment