The Swimming Pool/Hole

The Adult Wading Pool.JPG

I finally put up my pool…..or as I call it my adult wading pool.  Several years ago I purchased one of these 10′ x 30″ pools when it was on sale. It was a great decision.

Some years it gets put up and some years it doesn’t. Now that I have a couple grandkids it seems like it could be a lot of fun so I hauled it out and filled it up.

It does take three days to fill it as we do not have rural water and our only source is the well on our place. (Fortunately this well has never been known to go dry even in the very dry 80’s.)  So I pace myself and fill it one third at a time.

While filling the pool my husband and I spent some time reminiscing about our experiences as kids and swimming.  We remembered those cold early morning swimming lessons that we were required, by our parents, to take. The town kids (me) got to take their bikes to the pool….the country kids (my husband) carpooled with about 5 neighboring families to the pool in town.  They just jammed the cars full of kids and went to town….who needed seatbelts?

The first couple years that we took lessons we had to get on a school bus at 7:00 in the morning to go to a pool in the next town. Once our town built a pool we finally got to have later morning lessons. The year our parents finally thought we knew enough to keep from drowning they let us quit. I was very grateful for that.

My experience with swimming as a kid was very different from my husbands. I lived in town and my folks thought it would be a good idea for us to earn the money ourselves to purchase our own pool pass. We spent time working for an elderly lady, nicknamed the Goose Lady (because she had geese), pulling weeds and cleaning her house.  We also walked beans and detasseled corn.  Once we had enough; we went straight to the pool and bought our passes and spent our afternoons in the town pool. Nice and clean and chlorinated.

My husband, on the other hand, grew up in the country and only spent time in the town pool for those dreaded lessons. He would play in the ditches after a rainfall. If he, his brothers and his buddies really felt adventurous they would bike to a creek in the next mile. Once there they would wade into the shallow creek, where they sunk past their ankles into the mud. They would then venture under the wood bridge that spanned the road.  He said the water was deeper there but I do wonder if they perhaps just sunk deeper into the mud.

He told me they had to watch where they walked under that bridge as it seemed to be a dumping spot for old rolled up barbed wire and anything else that farmers didn’t want.

He related that to cool off they would go underwater and when they came up they usually had twigs, pigeon droppings, leeches and who knows what else clinging to them. I have a feeling they had some very strong antibodies in their systems!

Our boys were also farm boys but they had an upgrade from a creek.  We would fill the 2′ x 4′ stock tank and let them cool off in there. They spend many fun hours with each other and cousins in that stock tank. Every so often we would head for the river (when it was not to high), find a sand bar and take them swimming and fishing in the river.

I love it that filling my pool brings back so many good memories of our childhood and of raising our boys.  It is just another plus to putting the pool up. It is probably a good thing it takes 3 days to fill….just extra days for those memories!

Live in the sunshine, swim the sea, drink the wild air.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

The tan lines fade,
but the memories last forever…….
unknown

11 thoughts on “The Swimming Pool/Hole

  1. Linda K says:

    Your and Larry’s childhoods are similar to ours. I grew up in RV and never knew we had the better times for swimming lessons 😝It was still cold in the later mornings a lot of days. I can still feel that first sunburn because I didn’t want to come home on time in the afternoons like my mom told me to. My farm cousins swam in a stock tank….more fun than a pool a lot of times. Oh so refreshing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. marijo1245 says:

    I do recall the failed attempt at swimming lessons. I can dog-paddle and we’ll leave it at that. I mowed lawns to earn that season pass! Then the days were spent watching baseball and swimming and playing in the yard til way after dark. How wonderful to remember!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thechickengrandma says:

      It is getting fun to sit and listen to our boys talk about their memories of growing up. It is interesting that some of the things they remember were just the everyday things and did not seem like anything special at the time….but to them it speaks childhood.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

